Accessibility Tools

Program Conferences

  • Wednesday AM: Orthopaedic Grand Rounds
    • M&M: Last Wednesday of each month
  • Thursday AM: Spinal Deformity Conference (when on this rotation)
  • Friday AM: Spine Surgery Indications Conference
    • Monthly Combined Neurosurgery/Orthopaedic Spine conference – 4th Friday of each month
  • Monthly Research Conference:  3rd Wednesday of each month
  • Bimonthly Spine Journal Club

Special Events

Annual Gunnar B. Andersson, MD Lectureship

Dr. Gunnar Andersson is the Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Rush University.  An annual lecture is held in his honor which began in 2011.  Our honorary guest speakers have included:

2011 Daniel J. Berry, M.D.
Chairman, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN
Past President, AAOS

2012 James R. Andrews, M.D.
Medical Director, Andrews Institute, Gulf Breeze, FL
Founding Member
Andrew Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Center, Birmingham, AL

2013 Joseph D. Zuckerman, M.D.
Walter A.L. Thompson Professor Orthopedic Surgery
Chair, Department of orthopaedic Surgery, Hospital for Joint Diseases, New York, NY

Thesis Day

Thesis Day is an annual event at which the graduating residents and fellows do a presentation on the outcomes of their research.  An honorary guest lecturer is invited to moderate and present.  Our guest lecturers over the past few years (to 2014) include:

2008 Frank R. Noyes, MD, President and Medical Director, Cincinnati Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Center, Cincinnati, OH

2009 Frank J. Frassica, MD, Chairman, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, MD

2010 Dror Paley, MD, Paley Advanced Limb Lengthening Institute, West Palm Beach, FL

2011 Scott Kozin, MD, Associate Professor, Temple University;
Chief of Staff, Shriners’ Hospital for Children, Philadelphia, PA

2012 Judith Baumhauer, MD, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY
President, AOFAS

2013 J. Lawrence Marsh, MD, Professor, Department of Orthopedic Surgery Univ. of Iowa, Iowa City, IA

2014 Frank Eismont, MD, Leonard M. Miller Professor and Chairman, Department of Orthopedic Surgery Univ. of Miami, Miami, FL


  • Hansen Yuan, M.D. (1998)
  • Thomas Whitecloud, M.D. (1999)
  • Steven Garfin, M.D. (2000)
  • Marc Asher, MD (October 2-3 2001)
  • James Kang, M.D. (October 2, 2002)
  • Lawrence Lenke, M.D. (October 1, 2003)
  • Paul Anderson, M.D. (October 6, 2004)
  • Jeffrey Wang, M.D. (November 9, 2005)
  • David Polly, M.D. (October 18, 2006)
  • Eugene Carragee, M.D. (October 17, 2007)
  • Bradford Currier, M.D. (October 1, 2008)
  • Glen Rechtine, M.D. (November 4, 2009)
  • Carlo Bellabarba, M.D. (October 20, 2010)
  • Todd Albert, M.D. (October 12, 2011)
  • Howard S. An, M.D. (2012)
  • Isador H Lieberman MD MBA FRCSC (Oct. 23, 2013)
  • Sigurd Berven, MD (October 8, 2014)
  • Darrel Brodke, MD (October 14, 2015)
  • Frank J Schwab, MD (October 4, 2016)
  • K. Daniel Riew, MD (October 17, 2017)

The Orthopedic Building
Rush University Medical Center

1611 W. Harrison Street, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60612
Telephone Number(312) 563-6530

Credibility Logos

  • Chicago Bulls
  • Chicago White Sox
  • Chicago Fire
  • Ameriacan Academy Of Orthopeadic Surgeons
  • Castle Connolly Top Doctors
  • Pritzker School Of Medicine